Friday, February 2, 2007

Newkirk, Oklahoma 


The Board of County Commissioners of Kay County, Oklahoma, met in special session at 1:30 p.m., Friday, February 2, 2007, in the Commissioners Court of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma.  Notice of the meeting was posted for public information on January 31, 2007, at the Courthouse front door, Commissioners Court, and basement handicapped entrance of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma.


Chairman Schieber called the meeting to order.  Those present were as follows:  Dee Schieber, Chairman; Laile Wilson, Vice-Chairman; Wayne Leven, Member; Will Clark, First Assistant District Attorney (ADA); David Cummings, Attorney; Charles Abbott, Blackwell Journal Tribune; Sharon Rowen, Ponca City News; Tammy Reese, County Clerk/Secretary (see sign-in sheet). 


Discussion on Kay County Jail Trust Authority:  Tentatively set next meeting for February 9, 2007, at 1:30 p.m.


Schieber turned the meeting over to Attorney David Cummings, Baumert, Cummings, Hiatt & Young.  Mr. Cummings began by saying, on January 12, 2007; we did not have all the names to have prepared Trust Indenture with names of Trustees.  But today, the following names have been submitted as follows:  Chairman Dee Schieber appointed Norris Frederick-3 year term, Anthony Street-1 year term, Wes Young-1 year term; Wayne Leven appointed Jim Stieber-3 year term, Carl Giddens-2 year term; Laile Wilson appointed Bruce Robinson-3 year term, Darrel Grossardt-2 year term.


Commissioner Wilson introduced Bruce Robinson, Tonkawa, and Darrel Grossardt, Blackwell; Commissioner Leven introduced Carl Giddens, Ponca City.


Orva Rothgeb asked who the Sheriff’s nominee was.  Leven replied, the person submitted by the Sheriff could not be agreed upon and Wes Young, Reserve Deputy, was selected.  David Cummings said the Chairman of the Board choose three.


Motion was made by Leven and seconded by Wilson accepting beneficial interest in the Kay County Justice Facilities Authority and appointment of Trustees as follows:  Dee Schieber, Everette Van Hoesen, Norris Frederick, Anthony Street, Wes Young, Jim Stieber, Carl Giddens, Bruce Robinson, and Darrel Grossardt.  Motion carried:  Schieber, aye; Leven, aye; Wilson, aye.


Motion was made by Leven and seconded by Wilson to go out for bid for 16 doors in 2 pods (Maximum/TZ) in the Kay County Jail.  Motion carried:  Schieber, aye; Leven, aye; Wilson, aye.


Chairman Schieber said he contacted the State Fire Marshall on February 1, 2007, to update him on the progress being made in the jail.


Motion was made by Leven and seconded by Wilson to adjourn (1:50 p.m.).  Motion carried:  Schieber, aye; Leven, aye; Wilson, aye.





Approved this _____day of ______, 2007.


                                                                                    DEE SCHIEBER, CHAIRMAN



                                                                                    LAILE WILSON, VICE-CHAIRMAN



                                                                                    WAYNE LEVEN, MEMBER