Kay County Justice Facilities Authority

Friday, June 6, 2008

Newkirk, Oklahoma



The Trustees of the Kay County Justice Facilities Authority (JFA) met in regular session at 2:30 p.m., Friday, June 6, 2008, in the Commissioners Court of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma. Notice of the meeting was posted for public information on June 5, 2008, at the Courthouse front door, Commissioners Court, and basement handicapped entrance of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma.


Chairman Bruce Robinson called the meeting to order. Those present were as follows: Trustees Vice-Chairman Carl Giddens; Darrel Grossardt; Everette Van Hoesen, Kay County Sheriff; Laile Wilson, Kay County Commissioner; Wes Young; Don Jones, Jail Consultant; Attorney David Cummings; Brent Clark; Architect Stan Lewis, Architects in Partnership (AIP); Tom Thompson, D.A. Davidson & Co.; Sharon Rowen, Ponca City News; Tammy Reese, Kay County Clerk/Secretary (see sign-in sheet). Norris Frederick arrived after roll call was made 2:45 p.m.; Jim Stieber, absent.


Motion made by Van Hoesen and seconded by Young approving regular meeting minutes of May 9, 2008 and May 23, 2008. Motion carried.


(Joint meeting with JFA and Board of Kay County Commissioners)


Stan Lewis, AIP, presented jail site plans to several in attendance and talked about the architectural layout of the jail. Lewis discussed the access road (to and from) on delivery method. Lewis said after the site location is approved a soil engineer will perform tests results and make recommendations on structure and land will be surveyed for utilities and drainage. More discussion was made and Lewis answered questions.


Commissioner Austin said he would like to extend District#2 south of exercise yard to stock pile sand, rock, etc.


Chairman Bruce Robinson handed out aerial photo copies of District#2, jail site location, etc.


Attorney David Cummings said a surveyor will need to come and stake post, find utilities, and move forward.


Stan Lewis said he feels comfortable about the size (ten acres) of lot.


Report from Architect Liaison Committee: Committee met and discussed floor plan changes for the future jail.


Grossardt said there would be small offices for the Judge, Court Clerk and a small court room.


Stan Lewis added that there would also be a bond window.


Sub-Committee Report on Jail Repair Status: Van Hoesen reported about the damaged doors and bunks that are torn loose from the walls in the jail.


Commissioner Wilson suggested to Van Hoesen a technique to secure the southeast corner doors.


No report was made from the Jail Site Selection Committee.


No discussion was made regarding the current and future operations and facilities of the existing jail and its future use.


David Cummings and Brent Clark gave an analysis of the vote and campaign process. Clark said the tax election passed by 64 percent and that Kay County is now being used as a model example for other counties.


Cummings gave sales tax results by precincts and mentioned there were only four precincts where the vote did not pass.


Don Jones praised the character of the JFA members and District Attorney Mark Gibson.


Chairman Robinson said he was pleased with the work of the authority and District Attorney Mark Gibson.


Cummings said he received a note from the Ethics Commission about filing a final report June 23, 2008.


Robinson noted all the advertising bills were paid and discussed what to do with the balance of the money.


Brent Clark explained the bond process and the benefits/burdens of bonds.


Tom Thompson, Bond Financial Advisor, discussed financing statement and money available to authority by July 30, 2008. He told what kind of rating is received on bond issuances and said he would look at variables.


Brent Clark said the authority will need to be deciding what local bank to use to hold tax proceeds.


Cummings said he would draft a letter to local financial institutions soliciting interest regarding depositing sales tax collections and disbursements for the Authority and Kay County Commissioners.


There were no unscheduled public appearances.



There being no other business, motion was made by Van Hoesen and seconded by Young to adjourn (3:26 p.m.). Motion carried.










Approved this day of , 2008.







Bruce Robinson, Chairman







Tammy Reese, County Clerk

County of Kay, State of Oklahoma

Secretary, Kay County Justice Facilities Authority