Kay County Justice Facilities Authority

Wednesday, July 18, 2007

Newkirk, Oklahoma


The Trustees of the Kay County Justice Facilities Authority (JFA) met in special session at 2:30 p.m., Wednesday, July 18, 2007, in the Community Room in the Basement of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma.  Notice of the meeting was posted for public information on July 16, 2007, at the Courthouse front door, Commissioners Court, Community Room, and basement handicapped entrance of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma.


Chairman Bruce Robinson called the meeting to order.  Those present were as follows:  Vice Chairman Carl Giddens; Trustees - Darrel Grossardt, Jim Stieber, Gene Smith, Everette Van Hoesen, Laile Wilson, Trust Attorney David Cummings; Don Jones, Jail Consultant; Judy Barnes, Kay County Assessor; Christy Kennedy, Kay County Treasurer; Mary Ramey, Kay County Court Clerk, Scott Pemberton and Buddy Thomas, Kay County Sheriff’s Department; Sharon Rowen, Ponca City News; Patsy Leyva, Deputy Kay County Clerk/Secretary.  Members that were absent:  Norris Frederick and Wes Young.  (See sign-in sheet).


Motion was made by Wilson and seconded by Grossardt approving minutes from special meeting held on July 9, 2007 and regular meeting (lack of quorum) on July 11, 2007.  Motion carried.


Don Jones showed those present plans of what the jail facility could look like by building onto the east side of the present facility.


Donna Edmondson & Rick La Pointe from Larry Edmondson & Associates, Inc arrived for the formal presentation and Robinson asked that all architect firms limit their presentations to one hour.


Edmondson and La Pointe gave a presentation of their qualifications and showed plans of facility that they had designed for, Osage County Jail in Pawhuska, Rogers County Jail in Claremore, Johnston County Jail in Tishomingo, Wanbli Wiconi Tipi a Juvenile Detention Facility in Rosebud, South Dakota, Cherokee County Detention Center in Tahlequah and Garfield County Detention Facility in Enid.


David Cummings asked Edmondson if they had ever done an existing jail renovation and Edmondson replied that they had, but because of the added expense on renovations, most owners prefer to build new.


Robinson thank Edmondson and La Pointe for their presentation.


After a short break to allow the next firm to set up, Robinson again reminded the firm to limit their presentation to one hour.

Ben Graves and Stan Lewis of AIP (Architects In Partnership) gave their presentation addressing their qualifications and showed plans they had designed for, Creek County Justice Center, Pontotoc County Criminal Justice Center, McIntosh County Criminal Justice Center, Pittsburg County Jail Renovation and Addition, Haskell County Criminal Justice Center, LeFlore County Courthouse Addition and Renovation and LeFlore County Criminal Justice Center, Cleveland County Jail and Caddo County Courthouse and New Jail Addition. 


David Cummings asked Graves if he had any comments on the Kay County Jail.  Graves advised that Kay County has an attractive jail and that maybe it (after some renovations) could be used to house juveniles or the District Attorney’s Offices


Robinson thanked AIP for their presentation.


After discussion, Robinson suggested to Jones that the next firms to bring in were HMN and South Build, possibly at the next regular meeting of July 25


There being no further business, motion was made by Grossardt and seconded by Giddens to adjourn (5:15 p.m.).  Motion carried.






Approved this _____ day of __________, 2007.





                                                                            Bruce Robinson, Chairman








Tammy Reese, County Clerk

County of Kay, State of Oklahoma

Secretary, Kay County Justice Facilities Authority