The Kay County Excise Board met in special session at 11:00 o’clock a.m. on Monday, March 13, 2006 in the Commissioners Court of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma.  Notice of the meeting was posted on March 9, 2006 at the Courthouse front door, Commissioners Court, and basement handicapped entrance of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma. 


Chairman Cary called the meeting to order.  Meeting was moved to Courtroom A because of crowd.  Those present were as follows: Joe. R. Cary, Chairman; J. C. Estes, Member; Floyd Harden, Member; Dee Boyd, Judge, Mark Gibson, District Attorney, Will Clark, Assistant District Attorney, Judy Barnes, Assessor, Pat Schieber, Treasurer, Everette Van Hoesen, Sheriff, Buddy Thomas, UnderSheriff; Scott Pemberton, Deputy Sheriff; Carol Kellum, Election Board Secretary, Chad Otto, OSU Extension;  Sharon Rowen, Ponca City News; Charles Abbott, Blackwell Journal Tribune; Orva Rothgeb; Marcia Locke; Tammy Locke; John Williamson; D. Coates; Patsy Leyva, Deputy County Clerk/Secretary.  


Discussion concerning ongoing jail problems and issues with the Commissioners and the Excise Board members and what steps County can take to resolve the most serious of the problems to keep the jail from being closed down. Those citizens that were present agreed that the public was not aware of the seriousness of the jails problems and that if the public had been aware the Bond Issue may have had a different outcome.  The District Attorney agreed to get someone to come in for review of the jails problems, possibly National Institute of Corrections, within next 30 days and create a tentative time for study to go to State Inspector.  No further action taken.


There being no other business for the Special Excise Board Meeting, motion was made by Harden and seconded by Estes to adjourn.  Motion carried:  Cary, aye; Estes, aye; Harden, aye.









Approved this _____ day of _____________, 2006.






                                                                        JOE R. CARY, CHAIRMAN




                                                                        FLOYD HARDEN, VICE-CHAIRMAN




                                                                        J. C. ESTES, MEMBER