Thursday, October 9, 2014

Kay County Courthouse

Newkirk, OK


The Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) of Kay County, Oklahoma, scheduled a special session for 10:00 o’clock a.m. on Thursday, October 9, 2014, in the Kay County Commissioners Court, 1st Floor, Kay County Courthouse, Newkirk, Oklahoma.  Notice of the meeting was posted for public information on October 6, 2014 at 12:30 p.m. at the Courthouse front door, Commissioners Court, and basement handicapped entrance of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma.


Chairman Tyson Rowe called the meeting to order.  Those present were as follows: Jason Shanks, Member; Dee Schieber, Member; Brian Hermanson, District Attorney; Christy Kennedy, Kay County Treasurer; Cheryl Howard, Kay County Election Board Secretary; Larry Klumpp, OSU Extension; Everette Van Hoesen, Kay County Sheriff; Carol Purdy, Kay County Assessor; Marilee Thornton, Kay County Court Clerk; Steve Kelley, Kay County Undersheriff; Scott Cloud, Newkirk Herald Journal; Claude Williams, Taxpayers for Transparency; Tammy Reese, Kay County Clerk/Secretary.  (See sign-in sheet).


This was a joint meeting with the BOCC and the Kay County Excise Board.


No action was taken on Publication to be submitted regarding Kay County 2014-15 Estimate of Needs and Financial Statement of the Fiscal Year 2013-2014. 


County Clerk Reese told both boards with the roll over money from previous fiscal year, estimated miscellaneous revenues and ad valorem collections the total budget available is $6,344,932.34; the departmental requests were $6,441,610.96 making the adjustments required -$96,678.62.  She told how the eight elected officials annual salary is calculated (OS T19 §180.71-180.83) and said for parts of 2013 and 2014 it was not calculated.  Reese said a decrease in the eight elected official’s salary would be required to pay back for the two years the salaries exceeded calculation (2013-$26.04/2014-$34.38).  She also noted the eight officials’ monthly wages would be different October 2014 through June 2015; three officials will be leaving at the end of December and their deductions will be higher because of time frame to pay back.  Three new officials will begin in January 2015 and their salaries will be $4,740.62 per month and beginning July 2015 all the eight elected official’s salaries will be at the same monthly rate.   With these salary decreased adjustments it brought the required adjustment total down to



Each department head spoke to both boards regarding their requests.  All department heads requested $100 monthly increase from November 2014 – June 2015 for their employees.


Other requests were:  Kay County Sheriff Everette Van Hoesen said he asked for three additional deputies ($78,000).  Cheryl Howard, Election Board Secretary, requested $100 monthly increase for herself; County Commissioner Dee Schieber requested Dist#1, #2 and #3’s First Deputies be paid out of the General Fund-$114,600.00 (in the past they were paid out of the Highway Account). 


Much discussion was made and many questions were asked before making a final decision.


Motion was made by Schieber and seconded by Shanks allowing all departments to give their employees a $100 monthly increase, including Cheryl Howard and Dennis Bonewell from November 2014-June 2015 and allowing Sheriff Van Hoesen three additional deputies.  Election Board was cut $15,843.51 in Maintenance & Operations.  Dee Schieber was denied his request to pay three First Deputies from the three Districts out of the General Fund.  Emergency Management was cut $27,995.00 in Capital Outlay.  After making these adjustments a balanced budget was signed and approved.  Motion carried:  Rowe, aye; Schieber, aye; Shanks, aye.


Motion was made by Schieber and seconded by Shanks to adjourn at 11:34 a.m.  Motion carried:  Rowe, aye; Schieber, aye; Shanks, aye.





















Approved this 14th day of October, 2014.




                 TYSON ROWE, CHAIRMAN



                 JASON SHANKS, MEMBER