Kay County Justice Facilities Authority

Special Meeting

Friday, October 15, 2010

Kay County Detention Center

Newkirk, OK


The Trustees of the Kay County Justice Facilities Authority (JFA) met in special session at 10:00 a.m. Friday, October 15, 2010, in Front Door and Parking Area of the Kay County Detention Center in Newkirk, OK. Notice of the special meeting was posted for public information on October 13, 2010, at the Courthouse front door, Commissioner Court, basement handicapped entrance of the Kay County Courthouse, Kay County Detention Center front door, in Newkirk, Oklahoma.


Chairman Bruce Robinson called the special session meeting to order. Those present were as follows: Trustees Norris Frederick; Carl Giddens; Darrel Grossardt; Jim Stieber; Kay County Sheriff Everette Van Hoesen; Kay County Commissioner Laile Wilson; Wes Young; Don Jones, JFA Jail Consultant; David Cummings, JFA Attorney, Butch Byrd, Sedalco Construction Services; Stan Lewis, Architects in Partnership (AIP); Jeff Buechler, JFA Jail Administrator; Brenda Shance, JFA Deputy Director; Tammy Reese, Kay County Clerk. Gary Martin, Trustee, absent.


Dedication and Ribbon Cutting Ceremony:


The Newkirk High School Band and the American Legion Huff Minor Post#14 led the Flag Raising Ceremony and the Invocation was offered by JFA Trustee Wes Young followed by the ribbon cutting.


Chairman Bruce Robinson welcomed those in attendance. Robinson commented it had been a three and a half year journey to build this facility and gave a brief history of when and how it began. He recognized JFA board members, attorney, accountant, jail consultant and thanked several other people for their involvement.




Stan Lewis, AIP, was the first speaker. He said this team (JFA Board Members) was the finest group of individuals he has worked with in years.


Butch Byrd, Sedalco, noted the project came in under budget and had no loss accidents. Bryd said one of his goals was to use as many local contractors as possible. He praised the JFA members for giving of their time, personal sacrifices made and the concern they had for the taxpayers of this county. Bryd said it was the leadership of Chairman Robinson that led to this successful project.


Robinson said the 62,000 square feet facility was on 10 acres of land costing $22 million. He reminded those in attendance how much the sales tax was for and how it was divided and the purpose.

District Judge D.W. Boyd began by saying how thankful he was for the building. He said before this building was built there were limitations, but now there is room in the Inn. Boyd praised the citizens of Kay County; he said citizens saw the need, became informed, understood and voted to solve the problem. He thanked the Board of County Commissioners (BOCC) for seeing and understanding the need, stepping up to reality and for putting together the Justice Facilities Authority to get the job done. Boyd said he is proud of the citizens of this county and where he lives.


Robinson introduced the BOCC.


County Commissioner Steve Austin thanked all those in attendance for coming to the grand opening. He thanked the JFA for their commitment, volunteering their time and for a job well done. Austin praised the citizens of Kay County for seeing the obvious needs and for voting.


Sheriff Everette Van Hoesen thanked the citizens of Kay County and the JFA. He talked about how proud he was of the facility and the safe community in which we live. Van Hoesen discussed many repairs made to the old jail before deciding to build a new facility. He said the jail is no longer land locked and we now have the land to add on to facility, if needed.


Robinson introduced the leadership team of the JFA: Jeff Buechler, Director of Operations; Brenda Shance, Deputy Director; and Connie Cruz, Administrative Assistant.


Robinson invited the citizens to tour the facility 10:30 a.m. to 3 p.m., Friday, and 9:00 a.m. to noon on Saturday.


Jeff Buechler explained the tour process.


Chairman Robinson declared the meeting was adjourned, 10:40 a.m.




Approved this 22nd day of October, 2010.



Bruce Robinson, JFA Chairman




Tammy Reese, Kay County Clerk

County of Kay, State of Oklahoma

Secretary, Kay County Justice Facilities Authority