February 3, 2009

Newkirk, OK 74647


The Kay County E911 Authority scheduled a regular session at 9:00 o’clock a.m. on Tuesday, February 3, 2009, in the Commissioners Court of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma.  Notice of the meeting was posted for public information on February 2, 2009, at the Courthouse front door, Commissioners Court, and basement handicapped entrance of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma.


Chairman Steve Austin called the meeting to order.  Those present were as follows: Members Laile Wilson; Dee Schieber; Sherry Bowers, Ponca City; Carl Tanner, Braman; Jerry Evans, Newkirk; Larry Bittman, Ponca City; Sherry Landers, Blackwell; Susan Keen, Kay County Assessor office; Tammy Reese, Secretary/Kay County Clerk.  Members absent were:  Scott Dark and Divina Love, Tonkawa; Jerry Johnston, Braman; Harold Harris, Newkirk; Jim Roberts, Blackwell.


Motion was made by Sherry Bowers and seconded by Laile Wilson approving regular meeting minutes of:  October 9, 2008.  Motion carried.


It was noted the following will serve as the municipal officials:  Blackwell-to be decided; Braman-Jerry Johnston; Kaw City-Steve Long; Newkirk-Harold Harris; Ponca City-Sherry Bowers; Tonkawa-Scott Dark.


It was noted the following will serve as designated person for each municipal official:  Blackwell-Sherry Landers; Braman-Carl Tanner; Kaw City-to be decided; Newkirk-Jerry Evans; Ponca City-Butch Herring; Tonkawa-Divina Love.


The fees used to fund the three Public Safety Answering Points (PSAP) were discussed with Blackwell, Braman and Newkirk receiving 15 percent and Ponca City receiving 10 percent; fees received from Tonkawa and Kaw City were unknown.


An opinion regarding E911 and Council of Government Fees was requested by a E911 Member from District Attorney Mark Gibson.  Gibson stated in a letter pursuant to a recent Oklahoma Attorney General Opinion, the Northern Oklahoma Development Association (NODA) was permitted to charge such a fee.  Gibson confirmed after reviewing Oklahoma Attorney General Opinion 08-5, NODA is not allowed to charge a fee for the collection and disbursement of 911 funds.


Member Austin asked members how it was decided where signs would be distributed throughout the county.  Schieber replied signs were put up on heavily traveled roads because they were only permitted so much money to use for that purpose.


No discussion was made concerning community updates.


New Business:  Schieber discussed burn bans.


Motion was made by Austin and seconded by Schieber to adjourn at 9:19 a.m.  Motion carried.









Approved this 5th day of May, 2009.





Kay County E911 Authority

County of Kay, State of Oklahoma





Steve Austin, Chairman/Kay County Commissioner




Laile Wilson, Kay County Commissioner

Dee Schieber, Kay County Commissioner

Sherry Bowers/Butch Herring, City of Ponca City               

Scott Dark/Divina Love, City of Tonkawa  

Jerry Johnston/Carl Tanner, Town of Braman

Harold Harris/Jerry Evans, City of Newkirk

Steve Long, Town of Kaw City

Sherry Landers, City of Blackwell










Tammy Reese, County Clerk

County of Kay, State of Oklahoma

Secretary, Kay County E911 Authority