October 8, 2008

Newkirk, OK 74647



The Kay County E911 Authority scheduled a regular session at 9:00 o’clock a.m. on Wednesday, October 8, 2008, in the Commissioners Court of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma.  Notice of the meeting was posted for public information on October 7, 2008, at the Courthouse front door, Commissioners Court, and basement handicapped entrance of the Kay County Courthouse in Newkirk, Oklahoma.


Member Laile Wilson called the meeting to order.  Those present were as follows: Member Harold Harris, Newkirk; Member Larry Bittman, Ponca City; Member Debbie Ball, Blackwell; Member Jerry Johnston, Braman; Member Sherry Bowers, Ponca City; Member Divina Love, Tonkawa; Susan Keen, Kay County Assessor office; Judy Barnes, Kay County Assessor; T. R. Skaggs, Ponca City; Jerry Evans, Newkirk; Butch Herring; Ponca City; Tammy Reese, Secretary/Kay County Clerk.  Members absent were:  Dee Schieber, Chairman; Commissioner Steve Austin; Debbie Taylor, Kaw City; Scott Dark, Tonkawa; Jim Roberts, Blackwell.


Motion was made by Jerry Johnston and seconded by Sherry Bowers approving regular meeting minutes of the following meetings:  November 14, 2007; January 9, 2008 (no meeting-lack of quorum); April 9, 2008 (no meeting-lack of quorum); July 9, 2008 (no meeting-lack of quorum).  Motion carried.


Motion was made by Jerry Johnston and seconded by Sherry Bowers electing Kay County Commissioner District No. 2 Steve Austin as Chairman and Newkirk City Manager Harold Harris, Vice-Chairman.  Motion carried.


Motion was made by Sherry Bowers and seconded by Larry Bittman making the following changes to the Agreement and By-Laws of Kay County E911 Authority:  Article II. Governing Board Section 2.2 The Governing Board shall consist of 9 (changed number from 12 to 9) voting members.  Those voting members shall be:  the three serving county commissioners; one municipal, added the following language (and/or a designated, person that shall have the same voting privileges as the municipal official) from the cities of Blackwell, Braman, Kaw City, Newkirk, Ponca City, and Tonkawa (municipal official being a person employed by the municipality and reporting to the commissioners of the city).  Deleted language - three citizens, who are not municipal or county employees, with one each nominated by the city commissioners of Blackwell, Ponca City and Tonkawa.  Article IV. Authority of Board added section and language Section 4.9 Any member missing two consecutive meetings will be subject to removal by the Board.  The county commissioners are not subject to this restriction.  Motion carried.


Fees used to fund the three Public Safety Answering Points (PSAP) were discussed.  Bowers said Ponca City is collecting 10 percent; the law allows up to 15 percent.  Harris said Newkirk is collecting 15 percent; Johnston said Braman is also collecting 15 percent.  It was mentioned if fees need to be adjusted the cities should decide and bring it before the E911 Board for discussion and possible action.

No action was taken.


Motion was made by Harold Harris and seconded by Jerry Johnston approving regular meeting dates for calendar year 2009.  Motion carried.


Community updates:  Bowers thanked Terry Skaggs for his contribution with mapping for the county.  Harris said Susan Keen has been assisting him by verifying addresses for the 448 Ark City exchange numbers.


Harris told members he would like to know how much has been collected and what the budget is by next meeting.  He suggested contacting Larry Tipps, Northern Oklahoma Development Authority (NODA) to obtain this information; Harris also recommended asking Tipps to come to the next meeting.









Kay County E911 Authority

County of Kay, State of Oklahoma





Dee Schieber, Kay County Commissioner, Chairman




Debbie Ball (Barbara White) City of Blackwell, Vice-Chairman

Laile Wilson, Kay County Commissioner

Steve Austin, Kay County Commissioner

Sherry Bowers, City of Ponca City                       

Larry Bittman, Ponca City PSAP

Scott Dark, City of Tonkawa       

Jerry Johnston, Town of Braman

Harold Harris, City of Newkirk

Debbie Taylor, Town of Kaw City

Divina Love, Tonkawa PSAP

Jimmy Roberts, Blackwell PSAP










Tammy Reese, County Clerk

County of Kay, State of Oklahoma

Secretary, Kay County E911 Authority